Skip to page content
Washoe County Medical Society

C.H. Woods Award

The Washoe County Medical Society instituted the C.H. Woods Award in 1992. The award was named after the first President of the Washoe County Medical Society which was established in 1907. The award recognizes physicians who best demonstrate the art of medicine, and who have the magic touch when it comes to caring for patients. This award is presented annually at the WCMS Presidential Inaugural Celebration.

Past recipients have included the following individuals:

Noah Smernoff, M.D., 1992, Family Practice

Donald Mousel, M.D., 1993, ophthalmology

Roger Miercort, M.D., 1994, Radiation Oncology

James Atcheson, M.D., 1995, Endocrinology

Fred Elliott, M.D., 1996, Cardiology

John C. Scott, Jr., M.D., 1997, Urology

Robert Myles, M.D., 1998, Pulmonary Medicine

Laurence McClish, M.D., 1999, Orthopedic Surgery

Jerry Zebrack, M.D., 2000, Cardiology

Francine Mannix, M.D., 2001, Pediatrics

Edwin Cantlon, M.D., 2002, General Surgery/Gynecology

Ricky McElreath, M.D., 2002, General Surgery

William Morgan, M.D., 2003, General/Pediatric Surgery

John Williamson, M.D., 2004, Cardiology

David Diedrichsen, M.D., 2005, Internal Medicine

Thomas W. Brady, M.D., 2006, Urology

William N. Dawson, M.D., 2007, Neurosurgery

Susan S. Buchwald, M.D., 2008, General/Pediatric Surgery

Fredric M. Boyden, M.D., 2009, Diagnostic Radiology

Theodore B. Berndt, M.D., 2010, Cardiology

Wesley W. Hall, Sr., M.D., 2011, General Surgery/Hair restoration

Larry M. Noble, M.D., 2012, Cardiology

David A. Zucker, M.D., 2013, Pediatrics

Kelle L. Brogan, M.D., 2014, Palliative Medicine & Hospice

Ronald Sobczak, M.D., 2015, Gastroenterology

Jay K. Morgan, M.D., 2016, Neurosurgery

John Shields, M.D., 2017, Oncology

Brian Juell, M.D., 2018, General Surgery

Frieda Hulka, M.D., 2019, General Surgery

Lisa Nelson, D.O., 2020, Emergency Physician

Richard P. Seher, M.D., 2021

Robin S. White, M.D., 2022

Courtney Garrett, M.D., 2023